School calendar group to meet 3 times in August


The 21-member committee formed to help determine which school calendar best suits the Cobb school district will meet three times in August.

The group, which consists of eight parents, two community representatives, five central office staff members and six local school employees, will meet from 2 to 4 p.m. Aug. 1, Aug. 22 and Aug. 29 in the school board room at 514 Glover Street in Marietta.

Superintendent Dr. Michael Hinojosa originally said the meetings would be closed, but after talking to Board Attorney Clem Doyle about recent revisions to the Open Meetings Act regarding committee meetings, he decided that the meetings would be open to the public.

Dr. Angela Huff, the district’s new chief of staff, will be leading the meetings along with Deputy Superintendent Dr. Cheryl Hungerford.

Huff said the group would talk about what calendar is most appropriate for Cobb students and staff, and after the Aug. 29 meeting, she will make a recommendation to Hinojosa, who will ask for a vote from the school board sometime before or during the October board meetings.

The eight parents, who were selected by the 9th District PTA Council, are Sarah Regitz and Abby Shiffman, with the East Cobb County Council; Robb Stanek and Lisa Miller, Jessye Coleman Council; Brandi O’Reilly and Kevin Jabbari, Tom Mathis Sr. Council; and Carolyn Pusey-Wade and Janis Stevenson, South Cobb Council.

The two community representatives, who were selected by Hinojosa, are Dr. Arlinda Eaton, dean of Kennesaw State University’s Bagwell College of Education, and Wayne Dodd, board of directors and South Cobb Council vice chairman at the Cobb Chamber of Commerce.

The five central office employees, who were selected by the senior staff, are John Stafford, graduation coordinator; Darryl York, director of policy development; Gary Markham, supervisor of band and orchestra; Glen Brown, acting executive director of SPLOST; and Leanne Wood, assessment program manager.

The six local school employees, who were selected by area assistant superintendents, are Anthony Pearson, Mableton Elementary; Lisa Williams, Osborne High; Carole Brink, Dickerson Middle; Ed Wagner, Sprayberry High; Coy Dunn, Kennesaw Mountain High; and Cindy Stigall, Due West Elementary.

The committee was approved in December 2011 after originally being voted down 1-6 with only board member David Banks approving in October. The original 27-member committee included votes from board members.

(Reprinted from the Marietta Daily Journal, July 27, 2012. Written by Lindsay Field. Read more: The Marietta Daily Journal – School calendar group to meet 3 times in August )

Share East Cobber news with friends...


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.